Volcano

September 30, 2015

Today, my son Luke, who is 28 years old, and I met for lunch in Victoria, BC, Canada in the Whitespot near his Oak Bay apartment. It was the first time we had been together since my three month summer trip in Europe.

I told him how the toddler beside me on my flight from Heathrow Airport in London, England to Seattle, Washington, USA screamed almost constantly across the Big Pond.

“Afterwards, I kept telling everyone how I cannot recall you ever crying like that as a baby,” I said as I dug into the crispy pasta with tomato sauce in front of me and he forked up his meal choice of steamed broccoli on white rice. “Then, I found that other day as I was sorting through my many years of writing to find potential blog entries.”

This is it:

Volcano

by Tanya Lester

circa late 1980s

When Luke was born

A volcano erupted

From his lungs

Morning

Noon

Night

And several times

In between

One day I told him

I would tear my hair out

If he didn’t stop erupting

He said

Don’t worry, Mommy

I am only rehearsing

For building a volcano

When I am seven.

— END–

Tanya Lester is the author of “Confessions of a Tea Leaf Reader”. It can be purchased from the author or from amazon.com

It can also be found among the books in many libraries. If it is not in your library than ask for it and give them my email address: tealeaf.56@gmail.com

My other books can also be found in libraries including the Legislative Library of Manitoba. They are “Friends I Never Knew”, “Women Rights/Writes” and “Dreams and Tricksters”.

Tanya is also a reiki master.

Her website is teareading.wordpress.com

The first part of this blog can be found at writingsmall.wordpress.com

Facebook. LinkedIn. Twitter. Goggle.

Leave a Reply

