Ten Years Ago Now

January 27, 2016

There have been several times in my life when I have be reminded that merely the fact that I am female means I am in danger.

Here is a poem that I wrote in response for a call by the Main Street Revitalization Group in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada for pieces of writing referring to the city’s historic main street in 1985. It won a prize:

Ten Years Ago Now (1985) by Tanya Lester

This is history:

Ten years ago now

Hitch hike

Alone

Cold

Man stops

Get in

Says he’ll fuck me

Easy

No rape

If I let him

I say no

He says okay

You’re comin’

To my place

You little whore

Red light

Jump Out

On Main Street

Main Street

You saved me

This is his-story?

— END–

 

Besides being an author and freelance writer, Tanya Lester is an intuitive reader ( tea leaf readings, tarot, medium, psychic channel, Russian Gypsy card reading) and a housesitter. To find out more about her and her services go to web: teareading.wordpress.com   Facebook. LinkedIn. Twitter. Google or email: tealeaf.56@gmail.com  or call 250-538-0086.

 

 

Leave a Reply

